IVCA Memorial MS Cups

Three separate races with Swords well represented in all three. In the A race we were represented by Joe Mc Nally, Anto McMahon, Gerry Martin and newly crowned Club 10 mile TT Champ, Pat Halpin. The cold north wind seemed to be in your face or on your shoulder all the time except for the ‘charge’ down the Navan Road section. Swords managed to cover all moves bar the winning one, and indeed Anto was 50 sec clear on the first lap only to puncture. No panic…. he appropriated a wheel from a passing Liam Maxwell who was out for a spin! He went again on the 2nd lap and Pat nearly got across on his own before the group got organised and reeled both of them in. No reward for for the lads but all seemed to enjoy themselves. The C race started at an explosive pace with Paul Deans forcing the early pace. William Parnell managed to get clear a few times but no one was being let go. Indeed Tracey Piggott covered a lot of the moves. A few attacks in the last few miles, incl Deano’s trademark, but all were covered. On the last few corners Tracey got a slight gap, which Lar Cully bridged, with Dave Blake on his wheel. As Lar reached a tiring Tracey (into the wind), Dave jumped and stayed clear to the line to take his first result of the year and the Memorial Cup!