Kathleen O’Sullivan Memorial

This race was run over 7 laps of the near forgotten Boot Inn course and was a race for all categories run on a h/cap basis. By lap three the B, C & Vets categories were together. Small groups of riders had tried in vain to escape this bunch but all were back in the fold when Brian Aherne (Naas) and Phil Finegan (Cycleways) came across after breaking clear from the chasing A group. With the rest of the A’s fast approaching, there was no time to hang around and both riders attacked straight away. Both riders managed to stay clear despite some disconcerting noises coming from Finegan’s loosening saddle. The sprint for the line was taken by Aherne, with Finegan in close attendance. Next in, just a few seconds in arrears was a group of three riders lead by the newly crowned Irish Criterium Champion, Paul Doyle (Deeside), from Robert Whelan (Avonmore) and Laurence Roche (Team BH). The bunch sprint for 6th place was taken by local rider, Simon Whelan (McNally Swords) in a tight finish.

Great turnout of Swords riders, I counted 17!

Boot Inn: 35 Miles 1:20:15
Pos. Rider Club
1. Brian Aherne Naas Figrolls
2. Phil Finegan Cycleways Lee Strand
3. Paul Doyle Deeside
4. Robert Whelan Navan Avonmore
5. Laurence Roche Team BH
6. Simon Whelan McNally Swords
1. Pat Byrne Dublin Wheelers
2. Brett Nelson IMBRC
1. Derek Irwin Team BH
2. Darren McMahon McNally Swords
1. Terry Ferris Dublin Wheelers
2. Mick Rock McNally Swords
1. Keith Daly McNally Swords
1. Grace McNally McNally Swords
2. Tess Quinlan McNally Swords