Joe McNally League Race 10, Corkagh Park: Robbie Romps Home

A race report

With a strong headwind through the bends across the bottom of the circuit and into the final straight, it was going to be a tough night.  In the A race, the semi-scratch group got most of a lap headstart, but with a large group of scratch riders in pursuit, the catch was made within about 15 minutes.  Almost immediately the attacking started with the eventual winner Robbie Staunton of Strata3-VeloRevolution, Finbar McGurren and Ciarán Handley clipping away across the top of the circuit, only to be pulled back a couple of laps later.  From then on the attacks came thick and fast with the previous 3, along with Mark McCourt and Eoin Ryan all getting involved in short stints off the front.  Eventually the elastic broke and Robbie Staunton and Eoin Ryan of Team Smartlamp managed to forge a decent gap ahead of the now whittled down main group.  With only a few laps left, Ciarán Handley attacked across the top of the circuit and was soon joined by Finbar McGurren and Brian Morrisey, quickly catching Eoin Ryan and Robbie Staunton out front.  Those 5 would hold the gap to contest the finish.  Coming into the final lap Ciarán Handley attacked hard and pulled clear with Robbie Staunton on his wheel.  With Finbar McGurren and Brian Morrisey in hot pursuit, the hammer was down all the way to the line with Robbie Staunton comfortably winning the 2-up sprint.

A race Results:
1 – Robert Staunton (Strata3-VeloRevolution)
2 – Ciarán Handley
3 – Finbar McGurren
4 – Brian Morrissey
5 – Eoin Ryan (Team Smartlamp)
6 – Henry Crowley (Team Smartlamp)
7 – Mark McCourt
8 – Johnny Holland
9 – Micky Dardis
10 – Finbarr O’Callaghan

B race Results:
1- James Willett
2- Tony O’Farrell (VCB)
3- Aidan Harford
4- Conor Fitzpatrick
5- Conor McGrane (VCB)
6- Ciarán McSweeney
7- Mark Sheedy
8- Martin McGuinness
9- Alan Mulvey
10- Tony Brennan

Ladies Race:

  1. Bee O Brien